Skip to content
Choose your cityList your business

Guides · Reviewed 5 October 2026

Key Fob Repair in Canada: When a Fix Beats a Replacement

By the Locksmiths Canada editorial team15 min readPrices cited from published pages

The case has cracked. Or the buttons need a hard press, the fob went through the wash, or a new battery did not bring it back. Somewhere in that small piece of plastic is the part that tells your car it is you. The first question is whether it can be fixed or has to be replaced.

This guide is about car key fob repair. It covers what shops say they can fix, what the published prices look like around that work, and what to ask before you hand the fob over. It does not cover a lockout. If you are locked out of the car right now, that is a locksmith’s job, so start at our locked out now page instead. The end of this guide covers fobs that get you into a building or a garage.

The short version: shops say they can swap a fob’s buttons or shell instead of replacing the whole fob. None of the Canadian car key shop pages we opened prints a price for that work. The published figures sit on either side of it. Monty’s Locksmith in Toronto lists a fob battery at $20 (price list, modified 27 October 2025). Local GTA Locksmith says most key fob replacements cost $160 to $400 (its fob page, undated, read 5 October 2026). Those are published prices, not ones we verified. Before you hand the fob over, ask for the repair price and the replacement price in writing.

Would you rather have a professional look at it? Find a locksmith near you in our province directory. Each listing shows the date the business last updated it, so you know what to confirm on the phone.

What breaks on a fob, and what shops say they can fix

A fob is a battery, some buttons, the electronics inside and a case. Shops talk about those parts separately, and whether it can be repaired changes with the part. The table sorts the common problems by what you can see and sets out what shops publish about each. Prices come in the next section.

Problem by problem

What you see What shops say What to ask
The battery is weak or dead Monty’s Locksmith lists a fob battery and prices batteries that have to be soldered, on BMW and Land Rover, separately. 310LOCK names batteries among the parts it replaces. Is it a standard battery or a soldered one? Our key fob battery replacement guide has the published prices.
The buttons are worn, sticky or dead 310LOCK lists “Shells, buttons & batteries replaced” as its fob repair. Which part will you replace, and do the electronics inside my fob stay?
The case is cracked or broken Matrix Locksmith says some key problems are “the battery or housing that’s failed” and that it will “diagnose, repair, and rebuild when it makes sense”. 310LOCK lists replacement shells. Is this a key fob shell replacement, with my own electronics moved into a new case, or will I get a different fob?
The fob got wet, or went through the wash Local GTA Locksmith says “Corrosion repairs vs replacement trade-offs explained before money is spent” for water damage after a storm or a wash. Canadian Locksmiths leaves “damage from misuse, drops, or water exposure” out of its 90-day warranty on fobs it supplies. What do I pay if the fob cannot be saved, and what does the warranty leave out?
A new battery did not help, or the fob works only sometimes That is a diagnosis question before it is a repair question. Our guide to a key fob that is not working covers the checks to run first. Can you diagnose it before I agree to a repair or a replacement?

The standard to hold any shop to

Local GTA Locksmith says customers “should know whether the practical path is repair, replacement, programming, or emergency access before approving the job.” That is the standard to hold any shop to, and the questions further down build on it.

What key fob repair costs in Canada

Here is the finding that shapes the rest of this guide. None of the Canadian car key shop pages we opened prints a price for repairing a fob’s buttons, case or electronics. Several say they do the work. 310LOCK in Calgary says it can “repair worn fobs with replacement shells, buttons, and batteries”, often “saving the cost of a whole new remote.” Car Keys Canada, which serves Sarnia, London and Windsor, lists “Key fob repair” among its services. Neither page gives a figure.

What the shops do publish is the money around the repair, and the table sets it out. Every figure comes from the business’s own website, as published. Where a page shows no date we say so and give the day we read it, 5 October 2026. None of these pages says whether the price includes tax, and none of it is a quote. That is the rule our directory runs on. Fee ranges come from the business, carry a date, and are a guide for the phone call, not a quote, as set out in how we check listings.

The published figures

What you are paying for Published figure Source and date
Key fob or remote battery $20 Monty’s Locksmith, Toronto, price list modified 27 October 2025
Fob battery that has to be soldered, BMW and Land Rover $145 Monty’s Locksmith, price list modified 27 October 2025
Repair of a worn fob: shells, buttons, batteries No dollar figure on the page; it says “you will know the price before we start” 310LOCK, Calgary, undated, read 5 October 2026
Just the remote, for a non push-start key $140 Fob Vancouver, page dated 13 December 2025, tax not stated
Replacement key fob $160 to $400 Local GTA Locksmith, Toronto, undated, read 5 October 2026
Smart key or proximity fob $250 to $550 Local GTA Locksmith, Toronto, undated, read 5 October 2026
Push-start smart key fob $313.50 Fob Vancouver, page dated 13 December 2025, tax not stated
Spare aftermarket key, with a working key in hand $80 to $650, same day Monty’s Locksmith guide, published 15 June 2026
OEM fob ordered through a dealership $400 to $1,000+ before programming, often 5 to 6 days Monty’s Locksmith guide, published 15 June 2026

How to read the table

Read it as a ladder with a missing rung. A battery is at the bottom and a dealer fob is near the top. The price of repairing buttons, a case or electronics is the missing rung, and none of the pages we opened prints it. That is not an accusation. Repair depends on the fob and the damage, so a shop may want to see the fob first. It does mean the number you get on the phone is the first real price you will see, so get it in writing.

Three cautions on the figures. Fob Vancouver’s page, dated 13 December 2025, does not say whether “Just remote is $140” means a new remote or a repaired one. Its prices also come with a condition, covered below: you bring the vehicle. And the dealer row is Monty’s description of the dealer route, published 15 June 2026, not a dealer’s own price list. We did not open one.

When a fix beats a replacement, and when it does not

A fix beats a replacement when it costs clearly less and holds up. Four things decide that, and none of them is the price alone.

The part that failed

The repair listings that give any detail name batteries, buttons and shells. 310LOCK’s repair entry names those three and does not name the electronics inside. Water damage is where the answer is least certain, which is why the table above pairs it with the question of what you pay if the fob cannot be saved.

The two prices side by side

Published replacement prices give you a yardstick. Local GTA Locksmith says most replacements cost $160 to $400 (read 5 October 2026). Fob Vancouver lists just the remote at $140 (page dated 13 December 2025), without saying whether that is a new remote or a repaired one. A repair quote that lands near those figures deserves a second look, because the warranty may decide it. A quote well below them is what makes a repair worth having.

The warranty

The 90-day warranties we found, at Local GTA Locksmith and at Canadian Locksmiths, cover fobs the shop supplies. Canadian Locksmiths leaves out damage from misuse, drops and water exposure. Ask whether a repair carries a warranty at all, and for how long.

The clock

Monty’s Locksmith lists an OEM fob ordered through a dealership at $400 to $1,000+ before programming, often 5 to 6 days. It lists a spare aftermarket key, with a working key in hand, at $80 to $650, same day (guide published 15 June 2026). The same guide says the job is bigger when no working key is left. So a failing fob is a good moment to ask what a spare costs, while the old one still works.

Our guides cover both routes: key fob replacement, dealer versus locksmith, and what transponder key programming costs when the new fob has to be programmed to the car.

Who does the work, and where

If you want a repair rather than a replacement, the locksmiths are where the repair listings are. 310LOCK’s comparison table has a “Fob repair” row, and its dealership column reads “Typically full fob replacement only.” That is a locksmith describing dealers, and we did not open a dealer’s page, so put the question to your dealer directly.

Where the work happens differs by shop. Car Keys Canada says “We will come to your home, your place of business or anywhere else that is convenient to you.” Fob Vancouver asks you to “bring your vehicle (essential) and proof of ownership” to an appointment, and says “we do not do on-site services for cars.” Its page does not mention repair, so we do not know whether a repair there would need the car. Ask before you drive anywhere.

Questions to ask before anyone touches the fob

Before anyone takes the fob away or books a visit, ask:

  • Which part has failed, and which will you replace: the battery, the buttons, the shell or the electronics inside?
  • Is that price for a repair or for a replacement fob, and can I have both prices in writing?
  • Is that the full price, with the call-out and any programming included? Is tax on top?
  • What do I pay if you cannot fix it? Fob Vancouver says it may not be able to do Mercedes before 2008, and adds “We will not charge you if we cannot help.” That shows a shop can say so up front.
  • Does a repair carry a warranty, how long does it last and what does it leave out? Canadian Locksmiths excludes “damage from misuse, drops, or water exposure” from its 90-day warranty on fobs it supplies.
  • Will you come to me, or do I bring the fob, or the car?
  • How long will it take? Monty’s Locksmith says a dealer fob is often 5 to 6 days (guide published 15 June 2026), so ask what the turnaround is here.

Get the price in writing: what the official pages say

Two provincial pages and one federal page are worth knowing. The provincial ones address garages and dealerships, so read them as the standard to ask for, not as proof that they cover a locksmith’s fob job.

Ontario

Ontario’s page on car repair shops says: “Before a repair shop can charge you, they must have given you a written estimate, unless you declined it and instead agreed on a maximum amount you are willing to pay for the repair.” It adds that “The final cost charged cannot be more than 10% above the estimate or, if you declined an estimate, more than the maximum agreed amount.” (Car repair shops: your rights, updated 1 April 2025.)

The page says it applies to “any location that offers motor vehicle repair facilities”, and lists dealerships and used-car lots with repair facilities, neighbourhood garages, auto body repair shops and muffler shops. It does not mention locksmiths or key fobs, so we cannot tell you that a fob repair by a mobile locksmith is covered. Ask for a written estimate anyway. (Ontario page, updated 1 April 2025.)

Quebec

Quebec’s consumer protection office says that “Before making repairs that will cost more than $100, garages must provide you with a written evaluation”, and that “The garage cannot charge you more than the total price stated in the evaluation.” (Office de la protection du consommateur, last updated 10 October 2025.) The page covers vehicle repairs in general, including cars and motorcycles. It does not mention locksmiths or key fobs either.

Fees added on top

The Competition Bureau’s page on drip pricing says: “Drip pricing involves offering a product or service at a price that is unattainable because consumers must also pay additional charges or fees to buy the product or service.” It adds that “Drip pricing is considered to be false or misleading under the law, unless the additional charges or fees are imposed by the government, such as sales tax.” (Competition Bureau Canada, modified 24 August 2026.) For a fob job, that is the reason to ask whether the price you are quoted already includes the call-out and any programming.

A cracked case and the battery inside it

If the battery cover on a fob no longer closes, or the case is cracked open, think about who can reach the battery. Health Canada’s factsheet on button batteries lists remote controls among the devices that contain them, and says: “A swallowed button battery can cause severe internal chemical burns in as little as 2 hours.” It adds: “If you suspect your child has swallowed a button battery, take your child to the nearest emergency department immediately.” (Health Canada, Factsheet: Button batteries, modified 26 November 2024.)

The factsheet does not name car key fobs. If the battery in yours is a small round cell, its advice for other devices applies: “Regularly check devices to ensure children cannot access the batteries.” Until the case is repaired or replaced, keep a damaged fob out of a child’s reach. (Health Canada factsheet, modified 26 November 2024.)

If your fob gets you into a building or a garage, not a car

Searches for key fob repair also turn up the fobs that get people into condo buildings and garages. They are a different product, with different prices and different shops. FobToronto is a Toronto shop that copies building access fobs and sells condo remotes. It lists a battery replacement service at $20 and the battery alone at $10. It also lists a $30 reprogram fee to reuse a rewriteable fob you bring in, for standard fobs only. Its prices include tax (price page, modified 4 August 2026).

The same page says its lifetime warranty “does not cover condo management fob code changes and physical damage”. A cracked case is physical damage, so do not assume the warranty covers it. If the fob you are worried about is the one for your building, our fob copy guide covers what a copy costs and when it stops working.

What we could not establish

This guide gives no price for repairing a fob’s buttons, case or electronics, because we found none to cite. The shops we cite are in Toronto, Calgary, Vancouver and southwestern Ontario. Treat the figures as a starting point for your own calls, not a national average. Every figure is as published on the date shown, and we have not verified any of it.

We could not find a page that says which makes or models can be repaired, so we cannot tell you whether your fob qualifies. We also did not find a page that says whether a repaired fob needs new programming. Both are questions for the shop. This guide also leaves out repairing a fob yourself, because we found no source we could cite for it.

Dealers are a gap. 310LOCK says dealerships typically offer “full fob replacement only”. Monty’s Locksmith lists a dealer fob at $400 to $1,000+ before programming (guide published 15 June 2026). Both are locksmiths describing dealers, and we did not open a dealer’s page.

Finally, the repair-shop pages we found address garages and dealerships. The Ontario and Quebec pages above do not name locksmiths, we did not open the equivalent pages for other provinces, and requirements differ by province. How we check what we publish sets out what we do and do not check on the businesses we list.

Frequently asked questions

Can a key fob be repaired instead of replaced?

Sometimes. 310LOCK in Calgary says it can repair worn fobs with replacement shells, buttons and batteries. Matrix Locksmith in Toronto says it will “diagnose, repair, and rebuild when it makes sense”. Car Keys Canada lists “Key fob repair” among its services. Whether a repair makes sense depends on your fob and the damage, so ask the shop which part has failed before you agree to a repair or a replacement.

How much does key fob repair cost in Canada?

No Canadian car key shop page we opened prints a price for repairing the buttons, case or electronics of a fob. The nearest published figures are for batteries. Monty’s Locksmith lists a fob battery at $20 and a soldered BMW or Land Rover battery at $145 (price list modified 27 October 2025). For replacement, Local GTA Locksmith says most fobs cost $160 to $400 and a smart key $250 to $550 (read 5 October 2026). These are published prices, not ones we verified.

Is it cheaper to repair or replace a key fob?

We cannot say, because the shops we checked do not publish repair prices. Ask for both prices in writing. If the repair quote is close to the replacement price, compare the warranties. The 90-day warranties we found at Local GTA Locksmith and at Canadian Locksmiths cover fobs the shop supplies.

Will my car need new programming after a fob repair?

We did not find a page that answers this. Ask the shop whether the repair keeps the electronics inside your fob or swaps them, and whether programming is in the quoted price. Our transponder key programming guide covers what programming costs on published price lists.

Does a fob warranty cover water damage or a drop?

Some warranties leave both out. Canadian Locksmiths in Windsor lists “damage from misuse, drops, or water exposure” among the exclusions to its 90-day warranty on keys and fobs it supplies and programs (page undated, read 5 October 2026). Local GTA Locksmith covers a fob that stops working “due to a programming or manufacturing issue”. Ask any shop what its warranty leaves out before you pay.

Can a shop charge more than it quoted for a fob job?

We could not establish this for locksmiths. Ontario’s page on car repair shops says the final cost “cannot be more than 10% above the estimate” (updated 1 April 2025). Quebec’s consumer protection office says a garage “cannot charge you more than the total price stated in the evaluation” (last updated 10 October 2025). Both pages address garages and dealerships, and neither names locksmiths. Ask for a written price before work starts.

What should I do if a child may have swallowed a fob battery?

Go to the nearest emergency department immediately. That comes before any question about the fob. Health Canada says a swallowed button battery “can cause severe internal chemical burns in as little as 2 hours” (factsheet modified 26 November 2024). The factsheet lists remote controls among the devices that contain button batteries and does not name car key fobs.

The one thing to do now

Photograph the fob, front and back, and the damage. Write down the car’s make, model and year. Local GTA Locksmith says its replacement price depends on “vehicle make, model, and fob type.” Then ask two shops for two prices in writing: the repair, and a replacement fob for the same car. Put the warranty next to each price. If the two prices are close, compare the warranties before you choose.

If a shop will not put a price in writing, call the next one. If no shop will take on the repair, the replacement route is the one with published prices, and our key fob replacement guide sets them out.

Need a locksmith you can check first? Browse businesses by province and read how we check what we publish before you call. We look up each company in its provincial corporate registry and re-run that check monthly, we do not verify prices, and every listing shows the date the business last updated it. More guides like this one are in our guides section.

How to read the prices in this guide

Every figure above is a range a business publishes on its own website, with the retrieval date stated next to it. Locksmiths Canada does not verify pricing accuracy and none of these are quotes. Prices move, and the only number that binds anyone is the one you are given on the phone before the van leaves.

How we check listings · Why we do it this way

Get a call-out fee before you book

Listings that will not state a fee range do not get a phone number on this site. Start from your province.

Browse by province